What birds did Darwin study on the Galapagos Islands?

Charles Darwin studied the Galapagos Islands, focusing primarily on the finch species that lived there. These finches are known by the name Darwin's Finches. Darwin's theory on evolution through natural selection was shaped by these birds with their unique beak sizes and shapes that were tailored for the specific islands they lived in. Darwin deduced that these finches shared a common origin but evolved to take advantage of different ecological niches in the islands by observing their adaptation to each environment. Darwin's profound insight was the basis for his pioneering work about the origins of species. It revolutionized our understanding of the evolution of life on Earth.

The species of finches he observed include:

  1. The Large Ground Finch (Geospiza magnirostris)
  2. The Medium Ground Finch (Geospiza fortis)
  3. The Small Ground Finch (Geospiza fuliginosa)
  4. The Common Cactus Finch (Geospiza scandens)
  5. The Large Cactus Finch (Geospiza conirostris)
  6. The Small Tree Finch (Camarhynchus parvulus)
  7. The Medium Tree Finch (Camarhynchus pauper)
  8. The Large Tree Finch (Camarhynchus psittacula)
  9. The Vegetarian Finch (Platyspiza crassirostris)
  10. The Warbler Finch (Certhidea olivacea)
  11. The Woodpecker Finch (Camarhynchus pallidus)